Laura Ingalls Wilder was a writer known for her Little House on the Prairie books, based on her childhood in pioneer homesteads across the Midwest from Wisconsin to South Dakota.

Laura Ingalls was born on February 7, 1867, in Pepin, Wisconsin.  She was the daughter of Charles Phillip Ingalls and Caroline Quiner.  During her first ten years, the Ingalls family moved around, first to Missouri, then Kansas, back to Wisconsin, and then near Walnut Grove, Minnesota.  It was in 1879 that the family moved to DeSmet, South Dakota, where Laura and her family experienced one of the worst winters on record in 1880.

The Ingalls family settled in DeSmet, South Dakota, where Laura attended school and later became a teacher.  It was in DeSmet, that she met Almonzo Wilder, whom she would later marry.

Laura Ingalls Wilder detailed her life on the prairie in a series of books:

  • Little House in the Big Woods
  • Farmer Boy
  • Little House on the Prairie
  • On the Banks of Plum Creek
  • By the shores of Silver Lake
  • The Long Winter
  • Little Town on the Prairie
  • These Happy Golden Years

Laura died at the age of 90 on February 10, 1957. She and her husband are buried in Mansfield, Missouri.